Redbridge Book Award • Vision RCL

Redbridge Book Award

Photo of the Redbridge Childrens Book Award glass trophy

Each year, the Vision Schools’ Library Service run the Redbridge Children’s Book Award.
There are two categories:

The Children’s Book Award for school students aged 10 to 12 years old

The Teenage Book Award for school students aged 13 to 16 years old

Read all about the winners of Redbridge Children’s Book Awards 2020 here.

The awards process starts in September and ends in June. We invite all schools in the Borough to take part in the awards and vote for their favourite children and teen books published in the UK in the current year.  There is an opportunity for students to get signed copies of the shortlisted titles and meet the authors whose books they have voted for.

The award is continually evolving and each year builds on experiences from the last. The first year the awards took place, just 4 schools took part. There are now approximately 15 secondary schools and 10 primary schools taking part.

Alongside the Book Award we also run a short story and poetry competition in both age categories.

Awards Process

Redbridge Schools Library Service invites all schools in the Borough to take part.

School librarians, teachers and library staff select a long list of 15 children’s titles and 15 teen titles from books that have been published in the UK in the current year and aren’t sequels.

Sets of the long list titles are sent to each participating school and library reading groups. Students chosen to take part are encouraged to read and discuss which books are their favourites and reasons for their choices.

Schools send in a list of their top 8 children’s and 8 teen books and the shortlist is announced.

Final voting on the shortlist.  Winners and runners-up invited to the ceremony.

June – Awards Ceremony
All the participating schools and groups get together for a celebration of reading. The shortlisted authors are invited along to meet the students who have chosen their books.

There is a quiz on the shortlisted books, a question and answer session and the opportunity for students to get signed copies of the shortlisted titles and meet the authors whose books they have voted for.

The winning authors are presented with their award.

Current and previous winners

Children’s Book Award

Onjali Q. Rauf – The Star Outside my Window (2020)
Onjali Rauf – The Boy at the Back of the Class (2019)
Helena Duggan – A Place Called Perfect (2018)
Christopher Edge – The Many Worlds of Albie Bright (2017)
Ali Sparkes – Car-jacked (2016)
Holly Black & Cassandra Clare – The Iron Trial (2015)
Sharon Gosling – The Diamond Thief (2014)
Morris Gleitzman – After (2013)
Sita Brahmachari – Artichoke Hearts (2012)
Cathy Cassidy – Cherry Crush (2011)
Suzanne LaFleur – Love Aubrey (2010)
Cathy Cassidy – Ginger Snaps (2009)
Cathy Cassidy – Lucky Star (2008)
Morris Gleitzman – Once (2007)
Anthony Horowitz – Raven’s Gate (2006)
Anthony Horowitz – Scorpia (2004/5)
Jean Ure – Bad Alice (2003)

Teenage Book Award
Holly Jackson – A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder
Malcolm Duffy – Me Mam. Me Dad. Me (2019)
Marie Lu – Warcross (2018)
Cecila Ahern – Flawed (2017)
Sarah Crossan – One (2016)
E Lockhart – We Were Liars (2015)
Kevin Brooks – The Bunker Diary (2014)
Sufiya Ahmed – Secrets of the Henna Girl (2013)
Cat Clarke – Entangled (2012)
Malorie Blackman – Boys Don’t Cry (2011)
Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games (2010)
Anne Cassidy – Forget Me Not (2009)
Alice Kuipers – Life on the Refrigerator Door (2008)
Tim Bowler – Frozen Fire (2007)
Darren Shan – Lord Loss (2006)
Bali Rai – Rani and Sukh (2004/5)

Contact Us

For more information on the awards or how to sign up, contact Nina Simon on 020 8708 2423 or email